Clinton T. Rubin, Ph.D.
SUNY Distinguished Professor, founding Chair of the Department of Biomedical Engineering, Stony Brook University


Clinton T. Rubin, Ph.D., is a SUNY Distinguished Professor and founding Chair of the Department of Biomedical Engineering at Stony Brook University in Stony Brook, New York. He also serves as the Director of the Center for Advanced Technology in Medical Biotechnology, a CAT funded by the New York State foundation for Science, Technology and Academic Research (NYSTAR), which links the intellectual and physical resources of NY Universities to the biotechnology, pharmaceutical, and medical device industries. His basic and translational research is targeted towards understanding the cellular mechanisms responsible for the growth, healing, and homeostasis of bone, and how mechanical stimuli mediate these responses through the control of mesenchymal and hematopoietic stem cell differentiation and proliferation. The clinical significance of this work is applicable to the prevention and treatment of osteoporosis, obesity and diabetes.

Dr. Rubin is a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science and the American Institute of Biological and Medical Engineers. He is a recipient of the Presidential Young Investigator Award from the National Science Foundation, two Kappa Delta Awards from the American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons, the John Charnley Award from the Hip Society, the Fuller Albright Award from the American Society of Bone and Mineral Research, and the Giovanni Borelli Award from the American Society of Biomechanics. Dr. Rubin holds over 30 patents in the area of wound repair, stem cell regulation, and treatment of bone disease, and is a founder of Exogen, Inc., Juvent, Inc., and Marodyne Medical, each medical device companies which use physical signals to regulate biologic processes. Dr. Rubin received his AB degree from Harvard, and his PhD from Bristol University, U.K. He is married to Jennifer Sigler, is slower than his son, Jasper, and lives in Port Jefferson.

<< Back to Inductees